Skip to content

Generosity and Stoning Adulterers

February 12, 2010

I have been experimenting for the last six months with living a more generous life and trying to give more money and stuff away. I did this both in a structured way by giving to my church regularly and to other charities but also in an unstructured way, the kind of giving that is more fun, not just transferring money from one account to another but the ‘random acts of kindness’ type of giving that involves risk and getting personally involved: paying for friend’s cinema tickets, sending gifts or cash to people anonymously, delivering food parcels for no apparent reason except that I felt prompted by the Lord… it has been an amazing journey and the good Lord has supplied my needs amply and I have been filled with joy about the giving too (weird!)… a couple of weeks ago I discovered AJ Jacobs an agnostic guy who tried to live Biblically for a year… and who wrote a book about it: A year of Living Biblically.   He wrote an article in Oprah’s Christmas magazine on tithing and giving… it is worth having a read of the article: How much is too much to give to charity? He writes:  ‘And as I gave away money, I think I might have felt God’s pleasure. Which is odd. Because I’m agnostic.’… Our Lord moves in mysterious ways…

I hope all my links work and if you are wondering about the stoning of adulterers bit on my title… well, I stole it from my new best friend AJ Jacobs, if you want to know what I am talking about watch this interview with him on Today (something American). Unfortunately, you will have to listen to some commercial drivel first… but its worth it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

