Skip to content

A Lifestyle Feature with a Twist

June 26, 2011
by

Thanks to Helen Kongi, a Ugandan farmer, for a huge slice of perspective. Thanks to the Guardian Weekender for replacing the usual celebrity ‘life and style’ drivel (click the link for the full piece). And thanks to Izzi Jones for the tip!

On Saturday morning I wake up around five. Then I go out into the garden and do some work – weeding, planting. At 10, I come home and prepare my breakfast – usually, millet porridge with milk from my cow, Charity. She was sent to me by Send A Cow, and she’s 13 years old now. I’m so proud of her. I don’t know what I’ll do when she gets really old. I won’t slaughter her.

There’s no electricity in my village. It gets dark at six, so we use small hurricane lamps. After the Saturday evening meal, if the children are home from boarding school, we’ll sit and sing or tell stories. By around eight everybody wants to go to bed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

