Skip to content

What is Normal?

March 6, 2012

I love this set I found in Adbusters Feb 2011 (although brace yourself for the cover if you do search for it).  The page to the left is renowned French Portraitist Denis Bouvre whose piece is of a Senegalese wrestler .  The page on the right is ‘Queen Rocket‘ from ‘13 Queens‘, a piece by AlexandFelix.  However the two pages titled ‘what is normal?‘ are intentionally placed side by side thus creating a new comment and dialogue.  I couldn’t work out what I liked about them until a friend said “I don’t get it, explain it to me”.  Because I was forced to deconstruct and vocalise them, it slowly came clear, an exercise I will repeat.

So I’m not going to tell you what I found but I will offer you a few questions that should help you decode it for yourself.

Take a page at a time and ask yourself:

What are ALL the elements that make up the visual?  The colours, materials, props etc?  

What do each of these elements represent?  What are their origin?  What are their purpose?

Now contrast each page’s findings.

You can find alexandfelix and Denis Rouvre’s work here and here

Plus my new site attempting to Redeem Advertising Space designthefuture

4 Comments leave one →
  1. smellofburntwiggle permalink
    March 6, 2012 12:08 pm

    Thank you.

    I have copied the five pound note on to my facebok page, I hoped you would be ok with that because of what you say about not tagging your work/doing attributions?

  2. March 6, 2012 3:41 pm

    Hi, er, smellofburntwiggle, it’s great that the work is getting visibility. I love that some of the stuff I do gets reproduced and passed around without me knowing it. In my early years I avoided publicity at all cost and remained anonymous to keep the focus on the work and not me, though I’m not sure it worked, actually I think had the reverse effect in some cases. Since my solo exhibition in June 2011 I have put my name to the works previously created to help create an open dialogue and hopefully further the work. The ‘look after your soul billboard’ was commissioned in this way. The posters that are published for the street as far as I have control will always appear without links, tags or signature. So in answer to your question I’m happy for you to add credits or links but I don’t mind if you don’t. I’m glad you liked it enough to nick it and the integrity to say so.

  3. smellofburntwiggle permalink
    March 9, 2012 9:30 pm

    Thanks.Micah.

    Know what you mean about anonymity sometimes ironically creating extra interest in the artist – like those mystery little paper sculptures in Edinburgh last year.

    Looking forward to more…

Trackbacks

  1. Micah Purnell – An Interview « Creature Forum

Leave a Reply

